Home > Rugby League, Sport > State of Origin 1

State of Origin 1

Well it’s that time of year again…the “Festival of the Boot” as Roy & HG used to say.

As usual the various press in each state have been talking up their own team’s chances, but I think NSW have put their foot in it again.

Once again they have picked a team of superstars instead of a superstar team. They like to pick decent players, then invariably play them out of position and wonder why they aren’t as effective.  Then of course the players themselves are under enormous pressure to have a blinder because they know the selectors will axe them given even the slightest hint that they aren’t performing.

Contrast that with the Queensland team that has pretty much the same core as it has for the past 4 series, barring injuries.  Of course those injuries are in key positions…Cameron Smith, Justin Hodges,Ben Hannant, Steve Price.  There are some good replacements there to fill-in, but you know we’ll miss them (yes I am a Queenslander).

From what I have seen of the past couple of years, NSW are very much a confidence team.  They invariably come out full of vim, but if a couple of things don’t go their way you can see them drop their shoulders straight away.  Just look at what happened after the Hayne out-of-bounds thing in the first game last year.  Unless you were blind (or from NSW) the replay showed his heel clipping the sideline.  I know they took a long time to determine it, but I reckon they were actually looking for a way to give him the try not deny it.  When it was turned down they just crumbled and it was all over.

Queensland will guts it out all night and never give up.  I reckon they’ll come away with the series win this year to make it 5 in a row…not confident about tonight’s game though.

One thing I am not looking forward to is the repulsive commentary from the Channel 9 team.  Over the past few year’s they have been becoming more and more strident, to the point where they are now blatantly pro-NSW…it’s quite disgusting to listen to.  Even the normally neutral Ray Warren kept talking about “we” whenever he mentioned NSW…never a good sign.  And the less said about Phil Gould the better.  I wish there was another place to watch it but unfortunately 9 is the only game in town.  Might be time to mute the telly and turn up the radio…I just wish Roy & HG were back on.

Some links to contrasting parochial viewpoints:

Phil Rothfield’s delusional column

Barry Dick’s comments

Categories: Rugby League, Sport
  1. May 26, 2010 at 10:55 AM

    What’s your opinion on Craig Bellamy as coach. Considering his club teams’s success was built on a foundation of cheating, do you think that he has been found out at State of Origin level. I think so.
    Personally I don’t have much interest in State of Origin any more. Back in the mid to late eighties and early nineties I thought it was the best thing going around. Particularly before Brisbane came into the comp. It gave me a team to really hate. Once Brisbane came in though, a lot of my hate transferred to them, so I have gradually lost interest in this game. Give me the grand final anyday.

    • May 26, 2010 at 12:17 PM

      As a huge Brisbane/Queensland supporter I have to say…YOU ARE TOTALLY WRONG!!!! 😉

      I think he has definitely been found out at Origin level..I don’t think his coaching style is adaptable enough to cope with the influx of different players. Mind you I think he’s either picking the wrong team or getting the wrong team given to him. The NSW selectors insistence on playing them out of position if half the problem…I mean seriously Jamie Lyon at 5/8th?

      With the salary cap issue, I’m not sure the massive outcry of cheating is entirely fair. I know they knowingly rorted the system for 5 years, but they invested a lot of time and effort to build those players up to their current level only to have to get rid of them when they are hitting their prime.
      I know it’s not an excuse because all clubs have to do it, but that side of the system sucks. It effectively penalises clubs with good football foundations and allows the pissweak ones like Roosters or Sharks to buy a premiership team if they can.

      • May 26, 2010 at 12:23 PM

        Being a massive Brisbane/Queensland supporter, you would say that. Bad luck tonight.

  2. May 26, 2010 at 1:01 PM

    Chris :

    Being a massive Brisbane/Queensland supporter, you would say that. Bad luck tonight.

    We’ll see…the boot might be on the other face tomorrow….

  3. May 26, 2010 at 5:34 PM

    Now that you mention it, I can’t see anything but a Queensland win. New South Wales just don’t have the talent. Why they can’t produce a decent halves combination is a complete mystery.

  4. May 27, 2010 at 11:28 AM

    So how did you like the match Chris?
    Wnet pretty much as I expected….

    • May 27, 2010 at 11:32 AM

      Like I said, my passion for State of Origin has dwindled so I didn’t watch it, except to flick over every now and again. Of course the other reason not to watch it is that I don’t like watching Qld win 🙂
      I can tell by the score progression and what others are saying that it was pretty much Qld’s game all the way through. Is that how you saw it?

      • May 27, 2010 at 11:54 AM

        Very much so. There was some poor ball control in the first 10 minutes and NSW looked to have a slight edge, but the wheels fell off pretty rapidly and they fell apart as they usually do in that situation.
        I thought it was a very good game…even the commentators were curbing their worst bias excesses.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

